SIGIR 2019 Test of Time Award

The SIGIR Test of Time Award recognizes research that has had long-lasting influence, including impact on a subarea of information retrieval research, across subareas of information retrieval research, and outside of the information retrieval research community (e.g. non-information retrieval research or industry). The winning paper is selected from the set of full papers presented at the main SIGIR conference 10-12 years before. The SIGIR 2019 award will be selected from the set of full papers presented at SIGIR 2007, 2008 and 2009. A detailed description of the 2014 selection process can be found in the December 2014 SIGIR Forum. Previous years’ awards can be found on the SIGIR Test of Time page.

The Test of Time Award winner will be announced at SIGIR 2019. The award consists of,

  • reprinting the paper in the December SIGIR Forum with a short preface written by the committee,
  • a plaque, and
  • documentation on the SIGIR website.

In addition to the Test of Time Award winner, the committee will select up to three honorable mentions presented at SIGIR 2007.

The award is selected by a committee composed of past Program Committee chairs as well as a Test of Time Award chair selected by the Executive Committee. This year’s committee will be announced in the coming weeks.

The committee will select a subset of the candidates to evaluate for the award. Of the qualifying papers, the top 5 papers from the SIGIR main conference ranked by citation according to the ACM Digital Library will automatically be nominated for consideration.* This year’s automatically nominated papers are listed below. In addition, we encourage nominations from the community of papers not automatically selected. Nominations should include,

  1. citation of nominated paper,
  2. a short paragraph justifying consideration, and
  3. names of at least three members of the community who endorse the nomination.

None of the endorsers may have a conflict of interest with the paper. A definition of what constitutes a conflict can be found below.

Nominations are due by February 15, 2019 (anywhere in the world).

Please submit nominations using this form.

Automatically-Nominated Publications

SIGIR 2007

  • AdaRank: a boosting algorithm for information retrieval
    Jun Xu, Hang Li
  • Random walks on the click graph
    Nick Craswell, Martin Szummer
  • A support vector method for optimizing average precision
    Yisong Yue, Thomas Finley, Filip Radlinski, Thorsten Joachims
  • Towards automatic extraction of event and place semantics from Flickr tags
    Tye Rattenbury, Nathaniel Good, Mor Naaman
  • Information re-retrieval: repeat queries in Yahoo’s logs
    Jaime Teevan, Eytan Adar, Rosie Jones, Michael A. S. Potts

SIGIR 2008

  • Novelty and diversity in information retrieval evaluation
    Charles L.A. Clarke, Maheedhar Kolla, Gordon V. Cormack, Olga Vechtomova, Azin Ashkan, Stefan B├╝ttcher, Ian MacKinnon
  • A user browsing model to predict search engine click data from past observations
    Georges E. Dupret, Benjamin Piwowarski
  • Selecting good expansion terms for pseudo-relevance feedback
    Guihong Cao, Jian-Yun Nie, Jianfeng Gao, Stephen Robertson
  • Social tag prediction
    Paul Heymann, Daniel Ramage, Hector Garcia-Molina
  • Retrieval models for question and answer archives
    Xiaobing Xue, Jiwoon Jeon, W. Bruce Croft

SIGIR 2009

  • Learning to recommend with social trust ensemble
    Hao Ma, Irwin King, Michael R. Lyu
  • On social networks and collaborative recommendation
    Ioannis Konstas, Vassilios Stathopoulos, Joemon M. Jose
  • Placing flickr photos on a map
    Pavel Serdyukov, Vanessa Murdock, Roelof van Zwol
  • Portfolio theory of information retrieval
    Jun Wang, Jianhan Zhu
  • Named entity recognition in query
    Jiafeng Guo, Gu Xu, Xueqi Cheng, Hang Li

Conflicts of Interest

An individual is in conflict with a paper if,

  1. the individual is a co-author of the nominated paper,
  2. the individual was at the same institution as a co-author of the nominated paper when the paper was published,
  3. the individual is at the same institution as a co-author of the nominated paper currently,
  4. the individual is at the same institution as a co-author of the nominated paper when the paper was published, or
  5. the individual is a relative of a co-author of the nominated paper.


To be announced

measured on January 16, 2019. Previous Test of Time Award winners removed.