The 31st Annual International ACM SIGIR Conference
20-24 July 2008, Singapore

Final Call for Papers

SIGIR is the major international forum for the presentation of new research results and for the demonstration of new systems and techniques in the broad field of information retrieval (IR). The Conference and Program Chairs invite all those working in areas related to IR to submit original papers, posters, and proposals for tutorials, workshops, and demonstrations of systems. SIGIR 2008 welcomes contributions related to any aspect of IR, including:





Important Dates

Monday, 21 Jan 2008: Mandatory abstracts due for full research papers
Monday, 28 Jan 2008: Final version of full research papers due
Sunday, 24 Feb 2008: Poster/demo/tutorial/workshop submissions due
Sunday, 2 Mar 2008: Doctoral consortium submissions due
Sunday, 6 Apr 2008: Notification for papers, posters, demos, tutorials and workshops
20-24 Jul 2008: Conference in Singapore

Information on how to submit is available at

Technical Program Co-Chairs:
Sung Hyon Myaeng (Information and Communications University, Korea)
Douglas W. Oard (University of Maryland, USA)
Fabrizio Sebastiani (National Research Council, Italy)

Best Paper Award Chair:
Noriko Kando (National Institute of Informatics, Japan)

Senior Program Committee:
Eugene Agichtein (Emory University, USA)
Shlomo Argamon (Illinois Institute of Technology, USA)
Jamie Callan (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
Soumen Chakrabarti (IIT Bombay, India)
Hsin-Hsi Chen (National Taiwan University, Taiwan)
Lee-Feng Chien (Google, Taiwan)
Gordon Cormack (University of Waterloo, Canada)
Nick Craswell (Microsoft Research, UK)
Maarten de Rijke (University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
Edward Fox (Virginia Tech, USA)
Julio Gonzalo (UNED, Spain)
Sanda Harabagiu (University of Texas at Dallas, USA)
Donna Harman (NIST, USA)
Djoerd Hiemstra (University of Twente, The Netherlands)
Thomas Hoffman (Google, Switzerland)
Thorsten Joachims (Cornell University, USA)
Gareth Jones (Dublin City University, Ireland)
Rosie Jones (Yahoo! Research, USA)
David Karger (MIT, USA)
Jaana Kekäläinen (University of Tampere, Finland)
Diane Kelly (University of North Carolina, USA)
Wai Lam (Chinese University of Hong Kong)
Tie-Yan Liu (Microsoft Research, China)
Yoelle Maarek (Google, Israel)
Gary Marchionini (University of North Carolina, USA)
Massimo Melucci (University of Padova, Italy)
Jan Pedersen (Yahoo! Research, USA)
Berthier Ribeiro-Neto (Federal University of Minas Gerais, Brazil)
Hae-Chang Rim (Korea University, Korea)
Stefan Rueger (The Open University, UK)
Mark Sanderson (University of Sheffield, UK)
Luo Si (Purdue University, USA)
Ian Soboroff (NIST, USA)
Ross Wilkinson (CSIRO, Australia)
Hugh Williams (Microsoft Research, USA)
ChengXiang Zhai (University of Illinois, USA)