Women in IR (WIR) 2021


Women in IR is pleased to announce two virtual meetings to be held during SIGIR 2021. The sessions cover the same topics but are spread out to accommodate all time zones. Last year we invited a large group of panelists to discuss predefined topics. This year we take a different path which aims at encouraging attendees' participation on predefined topics and hence no panelists are invited. All SIGIR'21 attendees, regardless of gender identity, are welcome to attend one or both sessions. Topics to be covered are:


1 - We distributed a survey to our SIGIR community "SIGIR'21 Women-in-IR Survey-1", asking participants anonymously about the status of their organizations concerning pay transparency, gender pay gap, their interest in finding out, and the community's interest in leadership workshops. In the first part of the meeting, we will present the results of this survey and potential constructive steps to take and open to the participants who would like to provide constructive solutions.


2 - In the second part of the meeting, we will give a short presentation about "hero culture". There is a tendency in science to overemphasize the contributions of individuals and to downplay the significance of collective achievement and chance. The presentation will introduce the various facets of this topic and we then hope to have a lively discussion about how this affects women in IR and diversity in general. We are looking forward to a diverse crowd, including heroes and heroines.


If you have not filled out the anonymous 2-minutes survey "SIGIR'21 Women-in-IR Survey-1", we appreciate if you do by clicking on the link to the survey. To reach us please send your email to: sigir2021-wir-organizers@googlegroups.com


Event timings:

Session A

July 13, 2021 (13:00 EDT / 17:00 UTC / 19:00 CET / 22:30 IST)

July 14, 2021 (01:00 CST / 03:00 AEST)


Session B

July 13, 2021 (22:00 EDT)

July 14, 2021 (02:00 UTC / 04:00 CET / 07:30 IST / 10:00 CST / 12:00 AEST)


Previous events: SIGIR 2020 | SIGIR 2019 | SIGIR 2018 | SIGIR 2017 | SIGIR 2016 | ECIR 2016 | ICTIR 2015 | SIGIR 2015