SIGIR 2014 Best Paper Awards

The SIGIR 2014 Best Paper Award was presented to Giuseppe Ottaviano and Rossano Venturini for their paper Partitioned Elias-Fano indexes.

Leif Azzopardi received a Honourable Mention for his paper Modelling interaction with economic models of search.

The Best Student Paper Award was awarded to Dmitry Lagun, Chih-Hung Hsieh, Dale Webster, and Vidhya Navalpakkam for their paper Towards better measurement of attention and satisfaction in mobile search.

At SIGIR 2014, we introduced a new Test of Time Award, recognizing the best of SIGIR from the years 2002 to 2004. Details on the award process, as well as a reprint of this year’s winner, should appear in the November issue of SIGIR Forum. Many thanks to Fernando Diaz, our Awards Chair, for making this new award happen.

This year the Test of Time Award went to Cheng Xiang Zhai, William W. Cohen, and John Lafferty for their paper Beyond independent relevance: Methods and evaluation metrics for subtopic retrieval from SIGIR 2003.
Three papers received Honourable Mention, all from SIGIR 2002: Predicting query performance by Steve Cronen-Townsend, Yun Zhou, and W. Bruce Croft; The importance of prior probabilities for entry page search by Wessel Kraaij, Thijs Westerveld, and Djoerd Hiemstra; Methods and metrics for cold-start recommendations by Andrew I. Schein, Alexandrin Popescul, Lyle H. Ungar, and David M. Pennock.

Congratulations to the winners!