All posts by Krisztian Balog

Call for SIGIR Test of Time Award Nominations

The SIGIR Test of Time Award recognizes research that has had long-lasting influence, including impact on a subarea of information retrieval research, across subareas of information retrieval research, and outside of the information retrieval research community (e.g. non-information retrieval research or industry). The winning paper is selected from the set of full papers presented at the main SIGIR conference 10-12 years before. The SIGIR 2015 award will be selected from the set of full papers presented at SIGIR 2003, 2004, and 2005. The committee will select a subset of the candidates to evaluate for the award. Of the qualifying papers, the top 5 papers from the SIGIR main conference ranked by citation according to the ACM Digital Library will automatically be nominated for consideration. In addition, we encourage nominations from the community of papers not automatically selected. See the nominations page for further details.

Call for Nominations TIST EiC

The current Editor-in-Chief (EiC) of the ACM Transactions on Intelligent Systems and Technology (TIST) is stepping down after two terms, and the ACM Publications Board has set up a nominating committee to assist the Board in selecting the next EiC.

Nominations are invited for a three-year term as TIST EiC, beginning on April 1, 2015. The EiC appointment may be renewed at most one time. This is an entirely voluntary position, but ACM will provide appropriate administrative support.

The EiC is responsible for maintaining the highest editorial quality, for setting technical direction of the papers published in TIST, and for maintaining a reasonable pipeline of articles for publication. He/she has final say on acceptance of papers and appointment of Associate Editors. The EiC is expected to adhere to the commitments expressed in the policy on Rights and Responsibilities in ACM Publishing. For more information about the role of the EiC, see ACM’s Evaluation Criteria for Editors-in-Chief.

Each nomination should include a vita along with a brief nominating statement of why the nominee should be considered. Self-nomination is encouraged, and should include a statement of the candidate’s vision for the future development of TIST. The deadline for submitting nominations is January 30, 2015, although nominations will continue to be accepted until the position is filled.

Please send nominations to the nominating committee chair:
Subbarao Kambhampati (rao AT

The search committee members are

  • Subbarao Kambhampati (Arizona State University), Chair
  • Boi Faltings (Swiss Federal Inst. of Technology, Lausanne)
  • Maria Gini (University of Minnesota)
  • Craig Knoblock (USC/ISI)
  • Stephen Smith (Carnegie-Mellon University)

CHIIR 2016 and 2017 venues selected

The steering committee of the ACM SIGIR Conference on Human Information Interaction and Retrieval (CHIIR) is pleased to announce the selection of the following venues for the 2016 and 2017 conferences:

  • 2016: Chapel Hill, North Carolina, USA. General Chairs: Diane Kelly and Rob Capra.
  • 2017: Oslo, Norway. General Chairs: Ragnar Nordlie and Nils Pharo.

More information on each of the conferences will be available soon.